Cleaning Gun, pressed trigger with slide removed.

FN Forum

Google Search
Thanks Tree1Thanks
  • 1 Post By Canyon Man

Thread: Cleaning Gun, pressed trigger with slide removed.

Cleaning Gun, pressed trigger with slide removed.

Hello All,

I read somewhere that if you take the slide off, and push the trigger, your trigger mechanism could snap. I'm a bit concerned because when I was cleaning the frame of my FNS-9C (without the slide attatched), I accidentally pushed my trigger forward reactivating it, then just pulled it back to the pulled position. Can this damage the frame? Should i be worried? I don't see any blatant signs of damage, but I'm new to guns and am not sure if I would notice it.

Thank you!

I've never heard that before regarding the trigger mechanism, nor do I remember anything being mentioned in the owners manual regarding it. But I can assure you, don't worry, you didn't harm anything. I just took my full size FNS apart and looked at it. I can see nothing that could be damaged. And yes, I pushed and reset the trigger a couple times while the slide was removed. But I've put mine back together and all is working fine. Now on rifles, like AR's and our SCAR's, you don't want to pull the trigger and let the hammer fall onto the lower's frame - I'm wondering if that might be what you are referring to. But don't worry - you didn't harm your pistol. As always after putting your pistol back together, or rifle...rack it, pull the trigger, make sure it resets, and check to make sure your safety is working if you have one. Just insures you didn't do something silly wrong while putting it back together. All is fine, carry on...
    LESTER thanked this.

I think you may be right canyon. They may have been talking about a hammer. With a hammer, that could snap something?

Also, thanks for the thorough response! Everything seems to be working on it.

4. Remove Advertisements
    FNForum.net
    Advertisements