Noobie - FNX-9 Rental (vs M&P or XD)

FN Forum

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Noobie - FNX-9 Rental (vs M&P or XD)

I'm just looking to get into the world of pistols and am narrowing my choices. So far with just feel (without shooting) I'm interested in the FNX9, XD9 or M&P9. Any input on these three? I realize as an FN forum there may be some bias... but back up for the rationale is valuable too.

I'm hoping to shoot them this week and make my desicion soon.

Does anyone know where in the Phoenix area (hopefully further east valley) I could rent an FNX9? Caswells and the place in Queen Creek do not have them available.

Thanks,

I am an noob, waiting for the paperwork to process to pick up my FNX 40 but if you are left-handed, the FNX is the way to go. As far as I know, and that is not much, the FNX is the only pistol that is fully ambidextrous.

Senior Member CAN KILL GOATS WITH HIS MIND Econometrics's Avatar
    Welcome to the FN Forum, both of you!

Don't rent, just buy!
    The Eyes of Texas Are Upon You!

I own the FNX 40 and just yesterday shot a friends XD 40. The FNX recoil felt much less to me than the xd's. I also own a M&P 9 Pro and it is a very nice gun.
    I think you should make your choice between the ones you are most comfortable with their operating system. ie, hammer fired with saftey/decocker or striker fired with/without saftey.
    Myself for strictly range use I like the MP no saftey. For defensive use I like the FNX in the decocked position saftey off.

I sold my FNX-9 because of the backstrap play. I don't know if that issue is fixed now or not but I regret selling it. Never sell a gun just buy another! I bought a M&P 9 and I love that thing like crazy. The grip feels natural to me. Just buy what feels good in your hand. Buy a FNX or M&P the XD seems bulky to me when I hold them.
    PSA Ar-15, Remington 870, S&W M&P 9, Ruger 22/45