Scar 17s leaving light primer strikes on some ammo, causing misfire

FN Forum

Google Search
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Thanks Tree7Thanks

Thread: Scar 17s leaving light primer strikes on some ammo, causing misfire

Scar 17s leaving light primer strikes on some ammo, causing misfire

I started shooting my new scar with quality Aguila 7.62 by 51 and 400 rounds deep no problems at all, as soon as i tried any mil spec or military surplus ammo, i would have maybe 2 out of 40 rounds not fire but leave a small small dent on the primer, any thoughts or anyone experience any similar problems,,,, thx, love my SCAR, a little OCD with it!

Super Moderator
    FN Supporter
    Factory trigger? some guys who have changed their triggers to aftermarket triggers have had some failure to fire due to the light springs in those triggers. Some ammo mostly surplus ammo have hard primers so they require more force to set off and those lighter springs have trouble.

A little more info on your conditions will help.
    vz58kid and MEW thanked this.

"Sometimes it is entirely appropriate to kill a fly with a sledge-hammer!"
    MAJ. Holdredge

I suggest Shooting Sight's High Energy Hammer Springs for SCAR 16 and 17
    SCAR - HEHS High Energy Hammer Spring
    Canyon Man thanked this.

4. Remove Advertisements
    FNForum.net
    Advertisements

What surplus? What do the primer strikes on the Aguilla look like? I have.shot a very diverse selection of surplus through my scar with geiselle trigger and have not had any problems.

Sponsor
    FN Supporter

Out of all the triggers I have sold, I had perhaps 2-3 who experienced this problem. I never figured out the root cause, but since it is not a broad problem I assumed it was not fundamental to the trigger design, so it must be some one off problem of excessive drag, or a hangup. Since I introduced the High Energy Hammer Spring, the problem has never come back.