difference between a light and heavy barrel for the fnar

FN Forum

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Thanks Tree3Thanks

Thread: difference between a light and heavy barrel for the fnar

difference between a light and heavy barrel for the fnar

I am new to the black rifle market and I was wondering if someone could explain the difference between a heavy and light barrel fnar
    HAPPY PLANET thanked this.

ick
    Banned Eats Bullets For Breakfast

Re: difference between a light and heavy barrel for the fnar

Quote Originally Posted by bgriggsjr
    I am new to the black rifle market and I was wondering if someone could explain the difference between a heavy and light barrel fnar
    Boy, I believe the rifles are identical in every way....except that the heavy barrel doesn't have the "flutes" that the FNAR light has.

Not sure what the weight difference is... but I am sure a review of rifle stats reveals that.

I wonder myself what the long-term difference in the barrels is? Perhaps if you intended firing a lot of rounds in a short time.... like if you were a front-line sniper that would likely have heavy use.... the heavy barrel would see less warping from high temperatures?

Ick, which one do you have?

Also, for the heavy and light barrel question:
    Heavy barrels should theoretically be more accurate, especially with a longer barrel, because they don't vibrate as much as a lighter barrel. The vibrations are a good thing to some extent because they help retain the accuracy of the rifle, but if the barrel vibrates too much, it could affect the rounds. I think with a 20" barrel you would be fine either way. Once you start getting out to the 26" range, you might start having to worry about it a bit. If you are going to carry for long distances, the lighter barrel would be the way to go, but if you are more of a range/benchrest shooter, I'd go for the heavy barrel.

ick
    Banned Eats Bullets For Breakfast