Could someone PLEASE help me understand Holster "Retention Level" numbers?

FN Forum

Google Search

Unhappy Could someone PLEASE help me understand Holster "Retention Level" numbers?

Ever had one of those topics where you just KNOW you're going to get blazed for your ignorance, but there's no other real way to learn but to go through the fire? Because even though I've been handgunning and concealed-carrying for almost 20 years now on and off, I had let my license expire and then got it renewed, and a lot of technical jargon passed me by.

So at the risk of seeming stupid, here's the problem I'm having:

Every time I *think* I understand what holster retention levels are, I read something else that throws me for a loop again.

Here's the things I *think* I know, and then you all can tell me where I'm right and where I'm wrong, if you're so inclined.

"No retention" is a holster where the only thing holding the gun into the holster is gravity; your basic $10 holster.

"Passive Retention" is a holster made of mostly-rigid material which grabs on to the pistol, usually with part of the holster clamped on the trigger guard, until sufficient force is exerted pulling against it that the sides of the holster are forced apart and it lets go (as with Fobus, Blade-Tech, and most non-mechanical synthetic holsters). This is also known as Level 1 retention *unless it is a Safariland holster*, right? Because there is only 1 step- you just have to pull hard enough to overcome the retention lock.

Level 2 Retention for everything except Safariland involves a mechanical release of some kind instead of a passive retention, ie. something must be disengaged, then the pistol drawn- 2 steps, hence Level 2 Retention.

Level 3 would involve a hood or lock being disengaged, THEN a mechanical release, THEN drawing the pistol- 3 steps. Am I right so far?